Ngā rōpū ā-rohe
Zone groups

Zone groups are designed to provide networking and information sharing opportunities.

Each council/kaunihera is a member of one of seven zones based on geographic location and proximity. All elected members are part of their zone.

Each zone elects or appoints a chair, and in some cases an executive committee, for the electoral term. Responsibility for zone meetings is shared jointly by the zone and LGNZ.

Each zone is also represented on LGNZ's National Council.  This representative is elected every three years following local government elections and holds office until the next election.