Te Komiti Whakahaere o ngā Poari Hapori
Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC)

What is CBEC?

The Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC) represents all the community boards in New Zealand. It is an advisory committee to Local Government New Zealand's (LGNZ) National Council. 

The committee's role to advocate in favor of community boards, advise the National Council of LGNZ, and promote best practice amongst community boards.

The CBEC meets three times a year in Wellington. As well as these meetings, each Zone representative run regular zone forums to update community board members and focus on topical issues. 

Who is in CBEC?

  • Mike Edmonds | Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board | Far North District Council | Zone 1
  • Tania Tapsell | Rotorua Lakes Community Board | Rotorua Lakes Council | Zone 2
  • Graeme Sykes | Inglewood Community Board | New Plymouth District Council | Zone 3
  • Marilyn Stevens | Ōtaki Community Board | Kāpiti Coast District Council
  • Alexandra Davids | Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board | Christchurch City Council | Zone 5
  • Mandy Mayhem-Bullock | Waikouaiti Coast Community Board | Dunedin City Council | Zone 6
  • Jackie Te Amo | Te Maruata Roopu Whakahaere  | Community Board Member, Whakatane District Council
  • Bonita Bigham | National Council | Community Board Member, South Taranaki District Council
  • Mike Reid | Principal Policy Advisor | LGNZ
Alexandra Davids v2

Alexandra Davids

Chair & Zone 5 Representative | Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board

Alexandra has been on the Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board since 2013 and is the current Chair.  She values strong, thriving, resilient communities, ecological and sustainable decision making that always prioritises future…
Tania Tapsell v2

Tania Tapsell

Deputy Chair & Zone 2 Representative | Rotorua Lakes Community Board

Tania Tapsell is the Deputy Chairperson of CBEC and was elected as the Zone Two representative for East Coast, Bay of Plenty, and Waikato Regions. Tania has been a Rotorua…

Mike Edmonds

Zone 1 Representative | Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board

Graeme Sykes

Graeme Sykes

Zone 3 Representative | Inglewood Community Board

I will consider anything that can improve community wellbeing. This includes improving connectivity, listening to people and groups, adopting a problem solving approach by collaborating across affected groups, to establish…
Marilyn Stevens edit

Marilyn Stevens

Zone 4 Representative | Ōtaki Community Board

Marilyn Stevens' working life has included management in the early childhood sector and also a local electrical company.  Joint ownership with her husband of a compressed air and construction equipment…
Mandy Mayhem Bullock

Mandy Mayhem-Bullock

Zone 6 Representative | Waikouaiti Coast Community Board

Mandy was elected onto the Waikouaiti Coast community Board in 2016 and newly elected as the zone 6 representative.

Born and raised in Dunedin, educated at both Otago and Victoria University,…