Young Elected Members Committee

The Young Elected Members Committee (YEM) represents elected members under the age of 40.

YEM committee is a sub-committee of the National Council of LGNZ and was created in response to a growing need for young, elected members to have a voice and platform within local government in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Their role is to coordinate networking and development opportunities for young, elected members and to provide advice to the National Council on matters such as young adult/rangatahi participation in local government, building stronger relationships and issues affecting young, elected members, and to provide a view on any matters of policy and legislation.

See who’s on the Young Elected Members Committee

  • Zone 1: Nicholas Connop, Whangārei District Council
  • Zone 2: Fisher Wang, Rotorua Lakes Council
  • Zone 3: Anneka Carlson, New Plymouth District Council
  • Zone 4: Sophie Handford, Kāpiti Coast District Council
  • Zone 5: Rohan O'Neill-Stevens (co-chair), Nelson City Council
  • Zone 6: Alex Crackett (co-chair), Invercargill City Council
  • Te Maruata: Bridget Bell, Manawatū District Council
  • At large: Ben Bell, Gore District Council

Meet some of our Young Elected Members