Stand for sector/zone chair or National Council

14 October 2022

Over the next six weeks, we’ll be running elections for our Metro, Provincial, Rural and Regional Chairs, and for Chairs of each of our six geographic zones. Elections for Te Maruata Roopu Whakahaere, Young Elected Member Committee and Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC) are being run separately and will be held later.

At the same time, we are running elections for National Council, which is our governing board. National Council sets LGNZ’s strategy and direction.

Any elected member can stand for these key leadership roles, if they are part of the relevant group. If more than one candidate stands for a role, an election will be held.

If an election is required, we’ll send out information on voting, along with candidate details, ahead of the relevant sector/zone meeting.

Nomination deadlines and potential election dates
Group Nominations close Potential election
Zone 2 Wednesday 26 October 2022 Friday 4 November 2022
Metro sector Thursday 27 October 2022 Monday 7 November 2022
Zone 4 Friday 28 October 2022 Friday 11 November 2022
Zone 5 Monday 31 October 2022 Monday 14 November 2022
Zone 1 Monday, 31 October 2022 Tuesday, 15 November 2022
Zone 6 Monday 31 October 2022 Monday 14 November 2022
Rural sector Tuesday 1 November 2022 Wednesday 16 November 2022
Provincial sector Tuesday 1 November 2022 Wednesday 16 November 2022
Regional sector Friday 4 November 2022 Friday 18 November 2022
Zone 3 Tuesday 8 November 2022 Thursday 24 November 2022
Te Maruata Tuesday 6 December 2022 Tuesday 6 December 2022

National Council

Elections for National Council representatives are distinct from zone/sector/group chairs elections, though the same person can be elected to both roles.

National Council is a representative board:

  • Each of our six geographic zones elects one representative to National Council.
  • The Metro sector elects three representatives (at least one from the South Island and none from Auckland, which is represented elsewhere)
  • The Regional sector elects two representatives
  • The Rural sector elects one representative
  • The Provincial sector elects one representative
  • Auckland elects two representatives, one from Auckland Council and one from a local board
  • Te Maruata elects one representative, who will be one of their Co-Chairs
  • Young Elected Members elect one representative, usually a Co-Chair
  • Other National Council members who are appointed include the Mayor of Auckland, and the Mayor of Christchurch is co-opted.

The first meeting of the new National Council will be held in Wellington over 1-2 December.

Because the current Vice President was not re-elected in the local government elections, at this meeting the new National Council will appoint one of its members as a temporary Vice President until our next AGM. Elections for National Council President and Vice President for the new triennium take place at next year’s AGM.

What do these roles involve?

These draft terms of reference set out the scope of each role as reflected in our Rules:

Make a nomination 

A candidate’s nomination needs to be supported by two councils from the relevant sector or zone. Those councils’ mayor and CE need to sign your form.

The nomination form includes space for candidates to submit a brief blurb about yourself. This blurb will be shared with the voting information and made available on the LGNZ website.

To make a nomination, please fill in the relevant form below and return it to us at

Voting for NC representatives

For National Council sector reps each member council gets one vote. A Unitary Authority can choose whether to vote in the Regional sector election OR for Metro/Provincial/Rural sector election (as relevant) – but they can’t vote for both.

For National Council zone reps, the votes are weighted based on membership fees. You can see this weighting in the table below.

Zone One Vote Zone Two Vote
Far North District 5 Bay of Plenty Regional 5
Kaipara District 3 Hamilton City 6
Northland Regional 3 Hauraki District 3
Whangarei District 5 Kawerau District 2
Matamata-Piako District 3
Ōpōtiki District 2
Ōtorohanga District 3
Rotorua Lakes 5
South Waikato District 3
Taupō District 5
Tauranga City 5
Thames-Coromandel District 5
Waikato District 3
Waikato Regional 5
Waipā District 3
Waitomo District 3
Western Bay of Plenty District 5
Whakatāne District 3
Zone Three Vote Zone Four Vote
Central Hawke’s Bay District 3 Carterton District 2
Hastings District 5 Greater Wellington Regional 7
Hawke’s Bay Regional 3 Hutt City 5
Horizons Regional 3 Kāpiti Coast District 3
Horowhenua District 3 Masterton District 3
Manawatū District 3 Porirua City 3
Gisborne District 5 South Wairarapa District 3
Napier City 5 Upper Hutt City 3
New Plymouth District 5 Wellington City 7
Palmerston North City 5
Rangitikei District 3
Ruapehu District 3
South Taranaki District 3
Stratford District 2
Taranaki Regional 3
Tararua District 3
Wairoa District 2
Whanganui District 5
Zone Five Vote Zone Six Vote
Ashburton District 3 Central Otago District 3
Buller District 3 Clutha District 3
Chatham Islands 1 Dunedin City 6
Christchurch City 7 Environment Southland 3
Environment Canterbury 5 Gore District 3
Grey District 3 Invercargill City 5
Hurunui District 3 Otago Regional 3
Kaikōura District 1 Queenstown-Lakes District 5
Mackenzie District 1 Southland District 3
Marlborough District 5 Waitaki District 3
Nelson City 5
Selwyn District 3
Tasman District 5
Timaru District 3
Waimakariri District 3
Waimate District 2
West Coast Regional 3
Westland District 3