Are you confused about what ‘zones’ and ‘sectors’ mean?

17 November 2022

What are zones and sectors?


Each council is a member of one of our zones, which represent the different geographical areas of New Zealand. We have six zones, plus Auckland, which is its own zone. Each zone is represented on our National Council.

All elected members are part of a zone, and you're encouraged to get involved in your respective zone meetings.

Zone meetings are an opportunity to network with neighbouring regions, plus discuss the zones perspective on national issues/issues relevant to the zones geographical area.


Each council is a member of one of four sector groups - metropolitan, regional, provincial or rural. Each sector is represented on LGNZ's National Council.

All elected members are part of a sector, and you're encouraged to get involved in your respective sector meetings.

Sector meetings are an opportunity to network, plus discuss perspectives of the sector on national issues/issues relevant to communities of their population.

What councils are in what zones?

Zone 1 

Zone 1 includes Far North District Council, Kaipara District Council, Northland Regional Council and Whangarei District Council.

Zone 2 

Zone 2 includes Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Hamilton City Council, Hauraki District Council, Kawerau District Council, Matamata-Piako District Council, Ōpōtiki District Council, Ōtorohanga District Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, South Waikato District Council, Taupō District Council, Tauranga City Council, Thames-Coromandel District Council, Waikato District Council, Waikato Regional Council, Waipā District Council, Waitomo District Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Whakatāne District Council.

Zone 3 

Zone 3 includes Central Hawke's Bay District Council, Gisborne District Council, Hastings District Council, Hawke's Bay Regional Council, Horizons Regional Council, Horowhenua District Council, Manawatū District Council, Napier City Council, New Plymouth District Council, Palmerston North City Council, Rangitīkei District Council, Ruapehu District Council, South Taranaki District Council, Stratford District Council, Taranaki Regional Council, Tararua District Council, Wairoa District Council and Whanganui District Council.

Zone 4 

Zone 4 includes Carterton District Council, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Hutt City Council, Kāpiti Coast District Council, Masterton District Council, Porirua City Council, South, Wairarapa District Council, Upper Hutt City Council and Wellington City Council.

Zone 5 

Zone 5 includes Ashburton District Council, Buller District Council, Chatham Islands Council, Christchurch City Council, Environment Canterbury, Grey District Council, Hurunui District Council, Kaikōura District Council, Mackenzie District Council, Marlborough District Council, Nelson City Council, Selwyn District Council, Tasman District Council, Waimakariri District Council, Waimate District Council, West Coast Regional Council and Westland District Council.

Zone 6 

Zone 6 includes Central Otago District Council, Clutha District Council, Dunedin City Council, Environment Southland, Gore District Council, Invercargill City Council, Otago Regional Council, Queenstown-Lakes District Council, Southland District Council and Waitaki District Council.

Auckland zone 

Auckland City Council is its own zone.

How do I know what sector my council belongs to?

Metro sector includes all territorial authorities and unitary authorities with populations of 90,000 or over.

In some rare cases, there are exceptions. For example, Queenstown does not have a population over 90k but felt its issues were more aligned with the metro sector than the provincial sector, so are part of metro.

Regional sector covers all regional councils and unitary authorities.

Provincial sector covers all territorial authorities and unitary authorities with populations between 20,000 and 90,000.

Rural sector covers all territorial authorities and unitary authorities with populations of less than 20,000.

Additional definitions

Territorial authority 

A territorial authority is defined under the Local Government Act 2002 as a city or a district council.

There are 61 territorial authorities – 11 are city councils and 50 are district councils.

Regional council 

Regional councils cover 16 different regions in New Zealand.

These 16 councils are charged with the integrated management of land, air, and water resources, supporting biodiversity and biosecurity, providing for regional transport services, and building more resilient communities in the face of climate change and natural hazards. Environmental science and local knowledge underpin all that they do.

Unitary authority 

Six of the territorial authorities also have the powers of a regional council, making them unitary authorities. These are Auckland Council, Nelson City Council, Gisborne, Marlborough, Tasman District and the Chatham Islands Council.