2017 NZCMF

2017 New Zealand China Mayoral Forum

1134 Wgtn2017

Dave Cull, President, LGNZ

The second New Zealand China Mayoral Forum was held at Te Papa, Wellington on 3-4 December 2017.

This mechanism, launched on 21 November 2014, provides a platform for peer-to-peer exchanges for New Zealand and China mayors to discuss issues of mutual interest strengthen practical cooperation and enhance friendship.

The 2017 forum theme was “Sustainable economies - balancing economic development with the environment.” It built on the success from the first forum held in Xiamen, China in 2015 which produced tangible outcomes for the mayors that attended from both countries.

The New Zealand China relationship is important. The trade relationship has nearly tripled over the past decade, with two-way trade rising from $8.2 billion in the year ended June 2007 to $23 billion in the June 2016 year. The mayoral forums provide a new sub-national engagement to further enhance and develop political and trade relations for the future.

This year we were pleased to include a Business Forum on the Sunday before the main forum. The focus was on opportunities for Chinese and New Zealand businesses to connect and discuss opportunities for trade.

The main forum programme on Monday 4 December was designed to further deepen our exchanges in tourism, education and primary industries. These sectors have been a cornerstone of the New Zealand and China trading relationship.

We look forward to progressing practical China-New Zealand exchanges in Tourism, Education and Primary Industries over the next two years and hope to see you at the next New Zealand China Mayoral Forum to be held in China.



Economic Development Exchange session one: Tourism

  1. Mrs. Steve Chadwick, Mayor of Rotorua Lakes District
  2. Mr. Zhuang Jiahan, Mayor of Xiamen Municipal Government
  3. Mr. Tim Cadogan, Mayor of Central Otago District
  4. Ms. Bian Xianghui, Vice Mayor of Qingdao
  5. Mrs. Lianne Dalziel, Mayor of Christchurch
  6. Mr. Guo Feng, Mayor of the People’s Government of Qingyuan city
  7. Mrs. Jan Barnes, Mayor of Matamata-Piako District
  8. Mr. Jia Taibin, Deputy Secretary of Dunhuang Municipal Committee of CPC and Mayor of Dunhuang
  9. Mr. Phil Goff, Mayor of Auckland


Economic Development Exchange session two: Education

  1. Mr. Dave Cull, Mayor of Dunedin
  2. Mr. Chen Zhiying, Executive Vice Mayor of Guangzhou
  3. Mrs. Rachel Reese, Mayor of Nelson
  4. Mr. Gao Zimin, Vice Mayor of Shenzhen Municipal People’s Government
  5. Mr. Justin Lester, Mayor of Wellington
  6. Mr. Pei Weidong , Mayor of the Municipal Government of Liaoyang City
  7. Mr. Grant Smith, Mayor of Palmerston North
  8. Mr. Greg Brownless, Mayor of Tauranga


Economic Development Exchange session three: Primary Industries

  1. Mr. Damon Odey, Mayor of Timaru District
  2. Mrs. Sandra Hazlehurst, Mayor of Hastings District (video)
  3. Mr. Meng Foon, Mayor of Gisborne District (video)
  4. Mr. Xi Jincai, Mayor of the People’s Government of Baoji City
  5. Mr. David Trewavas, Mayor of Taupo District
  6. Mr. Li Mingyuan, Mayor of the People’s Government of Weinan City (video)
  7. Mr. Hamish McDouall, Mayor of Whanganui District
  8. Mr. Zhao Qichao, Executive Vice Mayor of Heihe City



NZCMF 2017 Mayors and Vice Mayors

Mayors and Vice Mayors of China and New Zealand

a1015Wgtn2017 b1051Wgtn2017 c1039Wgtn2017

d0080Wgtn2017 e0094Wgtn2017 f0109Wgtn2017

g1123Wgtn2017 h0f1c80ac 26cd 487c 84f8 7871c3bd0865 i3002Wgtn2017