TS786820 l

Search News & Media

Immigration New Zealand's Welcoming Communities programme grows

Kiwis are known for our manakitanga – how we care about our communities, how we build and nurture relationships, and how we engage with one another. In 2019 following a two-year pilot, Immigration New Zealand established the Welcoming Communities – Te Waharoa ki ngā Hapori  programme.

Welcoming Communities recognises that communities are happier, healthier, and heartier when new community members actively participate in their communities.

The initiative brings together councils and communities to make our hometowns more welcoming for everyone. The programme has been expanded with funding to enable a further 30 communities around the country to join the programme over four years to 2023.

Congratulations to the following councils and their communities who are joining Welcoming Communities:

  • Hastings District Council
  • Nelson City Council
  • Tasman District Council

These councils will be joining fifteen councils and communities already taking part in the programme.

Councils wishing to join the programme this year or who would like to find out more about the programme, please visit Welcoming Communities.