Te Uru Kahika

Working together to apply expertise and local knowledge for the wellbeing/hauora of our environments and communities.

Te Uru Kahika brings together our 11 regional councils and five unitary authorities, as they share responsibilities for natural resource management, supporting biodiversity and biosecurity, providing for regional transport services, and building more resilient communities in the face of climate change and natural hazards.

Environmental science and local knowledge underpin their work. They have extensive knowledge of the catchments and communities they work in, as well as a strong connection to Te Ao Māori, reflected in the decisions that are made.

  • Media releases
    Read the latest news and updates from Te Uru Kahika.
  • Resilient river communities
    Learn about river management and flood protection schemes, critical to minimising the damage caused by flood events.
  • Regional transport
    Learn all about one of the largest areas of central and local government investment.
  • Case studies
    Te Uru Kahika’s case studies showcase best practices and success stories in regional local government in Aotearoa New Zealand.