The EXCELLENCE Awards are open to all of New Zealand's 78 local authorities each year. The Awards, now in their sixth year, recognise and celebrate excellent performance by councils in promoting and growing the well-being of their communities. Awards are judged on a combination of general and specific criteria.

Awards recipients were announced at the Fulton Hogan conference dinner and LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards ceremony on Monday 8 July 2019.

Click here to read a media release about the award winners.

The categories for 2019 are as below:

  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being; and
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being.

The winners of the LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards 2019 were:

Creative New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being

Wellington City Council: Visa Wellington on a Plate (Visa WOAP)

The other finalists were:

  • Gisborne District Council: Tupapa - Our Stand. Our Story. 
  • Hamilton City Council: Maangai Maaori - Creating history in Hamilton ​
MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being

Wellington City Council: Wellington Waterfront 

The other finalists were:

  • Hastings District Council: Te Ara Kahikatea – Whakatu Arterial Link 
  • Thames-Coromandel District Council: Whitianga Town Centre upgrade: Stage one 
  • Waitaki District Council: H2OurHealth – Waitaki Water for Connected Communities 
Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being

Taranaki Regional Council: Riparian Management Programme 

The other finalists were:

  • Hamilton City Council: Helping New Zealanders see the light 
  • Thames-Coromandel District Council: The Coromandel Electric Vehicle Touring Loop 
LGNZ EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being

Palmerston North City Council: Festival of Cultures

The other finalists were:

  • Hurunui District Council: Taking the Plunge – The Story of HDC and the Waiau Pool
  • Kāpiti Coast District Council: Youth Development Centre Initiative 
  • Napier City Council: Anderson Park Playground  
Fulton Hogan Local EXCELLENCE Award

Gisborne District Council: Tupapa - Our Stand. Our Story.