The EXCELLENCE Awards are open to all of New Zealand's 78 local authorities each year. The Awards, now in their seventh year, recognise and celebrate excellent performance by councils in promoting and growing the well-being of their communities. Awards are judged on a combination of general and specific criteria.

Awards recipients will be announced at the Fulton Hogan conference dinner and LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards ceremony on Friday 16 July 2021.

The categories for 2021 are as below:

  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being; and
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being.

More information about the 2021 LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards is now available here.