YEM Committee

The Young Elected Members (YEM) committee is a sub-committee of National Council.

YEM Committee Members

  • Aaron Hawkins – Co-Chair & Zone 6 Representative
  • Lan Pham – Co-Chair & Representative
  • Rachel Smith – Zone 1 Representative
  • Austin Rattray – Zone 2 Representative
  • Aleisha Rutherford – Zone 3 Representative
  • Ros Connelly – Zone 4 Representative
  • Alexandra Davids – Zone 5 Representative
  • Craig Watson – Representative


Aaron Hawkins cropped

Aaron Hawkins

Co-Chair and Zone Six Representative

Councillor, Dunedin City Council

Aaron is a second term elected member of Dunedin City Council.  He is the Chair of the Community and Culture Committee, and is a certified RMA commissioner...
Lan Pham

Lan Pham

Co-Chair & Representative

Councillor, Environment Canterbury Regional Council

Lan Pham was the highest polling candidate elected to Environment Canterbury Regional Council 2016, following a campaign from the remote Raoul Island in the Kermadecs on...
23949146 10154944672791669 1895950944 o2

Rachel Smith

Zone One Representative

Whangaroa Community Board

Rachel is a first-term member of the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board with the Far North District Council, beginning her local government experience following the 2016 election.  From...
CV Austin Rattray 2017

Austin Rattray

Zone Two Representative

Councillor, Hauraki District Council

Elected to Hauraki District Council in 2016 and a local business owner since his late teens, Austin has a keen interest in regional economic development and currently...
Aleisha Rutherford cropped

Aleisha Rutherford

Zone Three Representative

Councillor, Palmerston North City Council

First elected in 2013 as Palmerston North's youngest ever city councillor, Aleisha is currently serving her second term.  Aleisha is Chairperson of the Community Development Committee,...
Ros Connelly

Ros Connelly

Zone Four Representative

Councillor, Upper Hutt City Council

Ros Connelly was elected to the Upper Hutt City Council in the 2016 Local Government elections. She is a member of the City Services Committee, and...
Alexandra Davids cropped

Alexandra Davids

Zone Five Representative

Member, Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board, Christchurch City Council

Alexandra is a member of the Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board.  She values strong, thriving and prosperous communities, clean waterways, and ecological and sustainable decision making...
Craig Watson

Craig Watson


Councillor, Selwyn District Council

Craig is a first term Selwyn District Councillor, from the Selwyn Central Ward, representing Rolleston, West Melton and surrounds.  He is the Deputy Chair of Selwyn District...