TS104452 l

National Council Committees

National Council Committees

To guide best practice governance, the Local Government New Zealand National Council has appointed eight committees in place. 

The Governance and Strategy Advisory Group (GSAG) is made up of 17 members appointed by National Council.

The Policy Advisory Group (PAG) is made up of 14 members appointed by National Council.

The Audit and Risk Committee assists the National Council of Local Government New Zealand in fulfilling Board responsibilities relating to the management systems, accounting and reporting practices of the LGNZ.

The Conference Committee works with LGNZ to make key governance decisions in the management and planning of the LGNZ annual conference.

The purpose of the Chief Executives' Forum is to assist the National Council and Advisory Groups in their deliberations and to give chief executives a dedicated pathway to ensure that LGNZ strategy and positioning is considered and tested at the senior management level.

Te Maruata, the Māori Committee, is a sub-committee of the National Council of LGNZ.

The Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC) represents all the community boards in New Zealand. It is an advisory committee to LGNZ's National Council. 

The Young Elected Members Committee represents elected members under the age of 40.  It is a sub-committee of LGNZ's National Council.