National Council

The LGNZ National Council is the elected leadership of LGNZ.

As well as being a Mayor, Chair, Deputy Mayor or Councillor, National Council members also act as the governing body of LGNZ, set and guide policies and oversee them to point of achievement.

The National Council members for the 2019-2022 triennium are:

  • Dave Cull | President
  • Stuart Crosby | Vice President | Zone Two | Councillor, Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Hon Phil Goff | Mayor, Auckland Council
  • Pippa Coom | Councillor, Auckland Council
  • Richard Northey | Local Board, Auckland Council
  • Aaron Hawkins | Metro Sector | Mayor, Dunedin City Council
  • Andy Foster | Metro Sector | Mayor, Wellington City Council
  • Grant Smith | Metro Sector | Mayor, Palmerston North City Council
  • Doug Leeder | Regional Sector | Chair, Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Rachel Reese | Regional Sector | Mayor, Nelson City Council
  • Hamish McDouall | Provincial Sector| Mayor, Whanganui District Council
  • Alex Walker | Rural Sector | Mayor, Central Hawke's Bay District Council
  • Hon John Carter | Zone One | Mayor, Far North District Council
  • Don Cameron | Zone Three | Mayor, Ruapehu District Council
  • Wayne Guppy | Zone Four | Mayor, Upper Hutt City Council
  • Sam Broughton | Zone Five | Mayor, Selwyn District Council
  • Gary Kircher | Zone Six | Mayor, Waitaki District Council
  • Bonita Bigham | Te Maruata Roopu Whakahaere  | Community Board Member, South Taranaki District Council
  • Hilary Humphrey | Young Elected Member | Councillor, Manawatu District Council


  • LGNZ 2016 Dave Cull

    Dave Cull


    Dave was appointed President of LGNZ in July 2017.  He was Vice President of LGNZ from December 2016 - July 2017.

    He was elected Mayor of Dunedin City Council at the 2010 local body elections, and was re-elected in 2013 and 2016. Since 2007, Dave has been heavily involved in the Dunedin community having sat on various steering groups and committees covering economic development, technology and the environment.  

  • LGNZ 2016 Board Profiles 01

    Stuart Crosby

    Vice President | Zone two | Councillor, Bay of Plenty Regional Council

    Stuart is the Vice President of LGNZ since July 2017, he represents Zone Two on National Council and is a Councillor for Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

    He has been an elected representative since 1986, serving as chairman on various committees, a period as Deputy Mayor and Mayor of Tauranga City Council. Stuart has a business background both in the electrical contracting and building industry. He now devotes all of his time to council and to the wider community. 

  • LGNZ 2016 Board Profiles Phil Goff 02

    Hon Phil Goff

    Metro Sector | Mayor, Auckland Council

    Phil represents the Metropolitan Sector on National Council and is the Mayor of Auckland Council. 

    Phil represented Mt Roskill for 10 terms of Parliament. He became New Zealand's youngest ever Cabinet Minister in 1984.  In his 15 years in Cabinet he covered a number of portfolios including housing, environment and education. In the Clark government, he was responsible for foreign affairs, justice, trade and defence. He was also Associate Finance Minister.  He served as the leader of the Labour Party and Leader of the Opposition.

    Phil has a first class Masters in Politics from the University of Auckland and won a scholarship to do post graduate study at the University of Oxford.


  • LGNZ 2016 Doug Leeder

    Doug Leeder

    Regional Sector | Chair, Bay of Plenty Regional Council

    Doug represents the Regional Sector on National Council.  He is the Chair of Bay of Plenty Regional Council and a Director on the Board of Port of Tauranga Limited.

    Before Doug gained his seat on Bay of Plenty Regional Council in 2013 he was an Opotiki District Council Councillor and Chief Judge of the Ahuwhenua Trophy Maori Farming Competition.

    During the past 30 years, Doug has held a range of governance and Chairman positions, including for Federated Farmers, Bay Milk Products, East Bay Health Board, East Bay Energy Trust, NZ Dairy Group, Dairy Insight and DEXCEL.



  • LGNZ 2016 Rachekl Reese

    Rachel Reese

    Regional Sector | Mayor, Nelson City Council

    Rachel represents the Regional Sector on National Council and is the Mayor of Nelson City Council.

    Rachel was elected Nelson's first female Mayor in 2013 after having served more than nine years at Nelson City Council, including three as deputy mayor.

    She has been an accredited Resource Management Commissioner is currently and she is LGNZ's representative on the Making Good Decisions Advisory Panel and the Environment Legal Assistance Panel.  Rachel is a member of Resource Management Law Association and is a qualified Mediator and Arbitrator.  She holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration and Graduate Diploma in Business Studies and is a Cawthron Trustee and a member of Rotary.


  • LGNZ 2016 Board Profiles John Carter web

    Hon John Carter

    Zone One | Mayor, Far North District Council

    John represents Zone One on National Council and is the Mayor of the Far North District Council.

    John was the Member of Parliament for various iterations of the Northland Electorate for 24 years, and became Minister of the Crown after the 2008 general elections.  He served as Minister of Civil Defence during the Christchurch Earthquakes, and as Associate Minister of Local Government, was instrumental in the reform of the Auckland governance. John was also Minister for Racing, and Minister for Senior Citizens before taking up the post of New Zealand's High Commissioner to the Cook Islands.  He was awarded the Queen's Service Order in 2011.

    John is a strong advocate of community-led governance.

  • LGNZ 2016 Don Cameron

    Don Cameron

    Zone Three | Mayor, Ruapehu District Council

    Don represents Zone Three on National Council.

    He became a Councillor in 2007 and was elected Mayor of Ruapehu District Council in 2010.

    Don is a qualified Hearings Commissioner, a member of the Rural Support Trust, chair the Social Sector Trial in Taumarunui and co chair of an integrated health working party to deliver an alternative rural health. Don is also a member of the Rural Health Alliance of NZ.

  • LGNZ 2016 Wayne Guppy

    Wayne Guppy

    Zone Four | Mayor, Upper Hutt City Council

    Wayne represents Zone Four on National Council and is the Mayor of Upper Hutt City Council.


  • Bonita Bigham Sept 2018 001 Web

    Bonita Bigham

    Te Maruata Roopu Whakahaere | Community Board Member, Taranaki Coastal

    Bonita Bigham (Ngaruahine, Te Atiawa) has been chair of Te Maruata, Local Government New Zealand's national collective of Māori in governance roles in local government since mid-2016 and has served on the committee since 2012. She is Te Maruata’s representative to LGNZ's National Council.

    She was elected to the Taranaki Coastal Community Board in 2019 and has been a councillor at South Taranaki District Council since 2010, is an accredited RMA commissioner and until recently was STDC's appointee to two external boards. She has an unwavering commitment to kaupapa Māori and a strong background in governance, including her iwi's Treaty settlement work, as well as active involvement in a wide variety of community organisations. Bonita was appointed to the Lottery Oranga Marae Committee this year, recognising her expertise in trusteeship and marae development.

    Bonita is an artist and freelance journalist. She completed her Masters in Fine Arts in 2018 and intends to complete her Masters in Māori Visual Arts this year before contemplating doctoral study focusing on the revitalisation of indigenous knowledge. Her biggest cheerleaders are her husband Kevin, mum Hinewaito and son Te Rei.

  • Hilary Humphrey

    Young Elected Members | Councillor, Manawatu District Council

  • Pippa Coom

    Councillor, Auckland Council