The EXCELLENCE Awards are open to all of New Zealand's 78 local authorities each year. The Awards recognise and celebrate excellent performance by councils in promoting and growing the well-being of their communities.  Awards are judged on a combination of general and specific criteria.

Awards recipients will be announced in the evening of the Fulton Hogan conference dinner and EXCELLENCE Awards function on Monday 8 July.

The categories for 2019 are as below:

  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being;
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being; and
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being.

In addition, one or more individuals will be awarded the Outstanding Contribution to Local Government Award, and the conference dinner sponsor will also select the Local EXCELLENCE Award from among the finalists.


Date updated: 12 February 2019