LGNZ Logo

We are searching for


community leaders


#Vote16NZ


2016 Local Authority Elections

We want more Kiwis to get involved.

Healthy democracy depends on New Zealanders voting this October in the 2016 Local Authority Elections.

During the next few months, we’ll be starting a conversation with Kiwis around what’s important to them, nationally and locally.

LGNZ's Vote2016 campaign is about listening and engaging on the issues that matter to locals that will make New Zealand a better place to live, work and play.

It’s about aligning our communities’ views with those of candidates, and supporting candidates as they stand.

Finally, it’s about people having their say at the October elections and voting for the issues that they care about for their family, business and community.

To link to our media release click here: A new campaign to increase voter turnout at the 2016 Local Authority Elections


How you can get involved

Make sure you are ready to vote in this year’s local election.

The first step to taking part in Vote2016 is to make sure you are enrolled. To enrol, check or update your details with the Electoral Commission, click here

If you would like to learn more about the Vote2016 campaign or to join the conversation follow us via our social sites:

We will regularly post information about the elections and the issues we've been told that matter to New Zealanders through our research.


Kids Voting

We want more Kiwis to get involved in the 2016 Local Authority Elections – and that includes our future voters!

The Kids Voting initiative is aimed at 11-15 year old students (school years 7 to 10) to experience the election process first hand: considering and discussing key issues, voting for candidates on real issues, and being able to compare their results against the official election results.

Click here for a Teachers Guide to Kids Voting 2016 and for further information on how to register your school. 


Next steps and useful information

Voters
Your vote makes a difference. Click here for further information on how you can be involved in Vote2016.

Candidates
If you’re considering standing, click here for a wide range of useful information to help get you started.

Partners 
Vote2016 also involves national agencies, organisations and businesses who have an interest in the best local government for New Zealand.  We have a range of partner options you might like to consider in supporting Vote2016. Click here for further information.

Campaign and research
Local elections turnout in New Zealand has been declining since the 1980s.  Vote2016 aims to lift voter numbers above 50 per cent nationally for the first time since 1998. Click here for further information around our independent research. 

Media  
For media enquiry contacts, a list of key dates you should be aware of and a range of useful guides click here

 

Key dates for the 2016 elections

15 July

Candidate nominations open and roll opens for public inspection  

15 July - 12 August at 12pm    

Receipt of candidate nominations

12 August at 12pm

Candidate nominations close and roll closes

17 August

Public notice of candidate’s names

16 - 21 September

Voting documents delivered

13 September - 5 October

Special voting period

16 September - 8 October

Progressive roll scrutiny, special voting, early processing

8 October at 12pm

Election day – voting closes midday

8 October from 12pm

Preliminary results

13 – 19 October

Declaration of results

October/November

Elected members’ swearing in ceremonies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact details for Council Electoral Officers

Council

Electoral Officer

Contact number

Email

Ashburton District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Auckland Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionz.com

Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Cindy Butt

0800 368 267

cindy.butt@boprc.govt.nz

Buller District Council

John Rodger

03 788 9111

jayar@bdc.govt.nz

Carterton District Council

Milan Hautler

06 379 4030

milan@cdc.govt.nz

Central Hawkes Bay District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Central Otago District Council

Kara Leckie

03 440 0611

kara.leckie@codc.govt.nz

Chatham Island Council

Deborah Goomes

03 305 0033

deborah@cic.govt.nz

Christchurch City Council

Jo Daly

03 941 8581

jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz

Clutha District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Dunedin City Council

Pam Jordan

03 474 3428

pam.jordan@dcc.govt.nz

Environment Canterbury

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Environment Southland

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Far North District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Gisborne District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Gore District Council

Tony Shepherd

03 209 0345

tshepherd@goredc.govt.nz

Greater Wellington

Margaret Meek

04 384 5708

margaret.meek@gw.govt.nz

Grey District Council

Kathryn Ruddle

03 769 8601

kathryn.ruddle@greydc.govt.nz

Hamilton City Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Hastings District Council

Jackie Evans

06 871 5018 

jackiee@hdc.govt.nz   

Hauraki District Council

Robyn Kirby

07 862 8609

robyn@hauraki-dc.govt.nz

Hawkes Bay Regional Council

Leeanne Hooper

06 833 8017

leeanne@hbrc.govt.nz

Horizons Regional Council

Craig Grant

06 952 2800

craig.grant@horizons.govt.nz

Horowhenua District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Hurunui District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Hutt City Council

Bruce Hodgins

04 570 6839

bruce.hodgins@huttcity.govt.nz

Invercargill City Council

Graham Low

03 211 1650

graham.low@icc.govt.nz

Kaikoura District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Kaipara District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Kapiti Coast District Council

Jude Wadsworth

04 296 4700

jude.wadsworth@kapiticoast.govt.nz

Kawerau District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Mackenzie District Council

Paul Morris

03 685 8514

paul@mackenzie.govt.nz

Manawatu District Council

Warwick Lampp

06 323 0000

wlampp@electionz.com

Marlborough District Council

Dean Heiford

03 520 7447

dean.heiford@marlborough.govt.nz

Masterton District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Matamata-Piako District Council

Sandy Barnes

07 884 0074

sbarnes@mpdc.govt.nz

Napier City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Nelson City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

New Plymouth District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Northland Regional Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Opotiki District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Otago Regional Council

Pam Jordan

03 474 3428

pam.jordan@dcc.govt.nz

Otorohanga District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Palmerston North City Council

John Annabell

06 356 8199

john.annabell@pncc.govt.nz

Porirua City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Queenstown-Lakes District Council

Jane Robertson

03 441 0470

jane.robertson@qldc.govt.nz

Rangitikei District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Rotorua District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Ruapehu District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Selwyn District Council

Douglas Marshall

03 318 7705

douglas.marshall@selwyn.govt.nz

South Taranaki District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

South Waikato District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

South Wairarapa District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Southland District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Stratford District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Taranaki Regional Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Tararua District Council

Sandy Lowe

06 374 4080

sandy.lowe@tararuadc.govt.nz

Tasman District Council

Sandra Hartley

03 543 8554

sandra.hartley@tasman.govt.nz

Taupo District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Tauranga City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Thames-Coromandel District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Timaru District Council

Mark Low

03 687 7200

mark.low@timdc.govt.nz

Upper Hutt City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Waikato District Council

Dale Ofsoske

0800 922 822

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Waikato Regional Council

Mali Ahipene

07 859 0507

mali.ahipene@waikatoregion.govt.nz

Waimakariri District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Waimate District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Waipa District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Wairoa District Council

James Baty

06 838 7309

james@wairoadc.govt.nz

Waitaki District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Waitomo District Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

Whanganui District Council

Noeline Moosman

06 349 0001

noeline.moosman@whanganui.govt.nz

Wellington City Council

Warwick Lampp

03 377 3530

wlampp@electionz.com

West Coast Regional Council

Kathryn Ruddle

03 769 8601

kathryn.ruddle@greydc.govt.nz

Western Bay of Plenty District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Westland District Council

Anthony Morton

03 377 3530

amorton@electionz.com

Whakatane District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

Whangarei District Council

Dale Ofsoske

09 973 5212

dale.ofsoske@electionservices.co.nz

 

 

 





Vote2016 on a page

Click here for a summary of campaign phases, target audience, issues that matter, critical dates and campaign collateral.

Vote2016 campaign image