Mayors Taskforce For Jobs

NZ's Local Government » Mayors Taskforce For Jobs

Mayors Taskforce For Jobs

What is the MTFJ?

In February 2000, a group of seven Mayors from around New Zealand gathered in Christchurch to establish the Mayors Taskforce For Jobs.  MTFJ has grown to now be a nationwide network of New Zealand’s Mayors, working together towards the vision of all young people under 25 being engaged in appropriate education, training, work or other positive activity in their communities.

The Core Group within MTFJ holds quarterly meetings in Wellington with the Ministers and officials from government departments and holds responsibility for the overall vision, direction, leadership and strategic focus of MTFJ. Hon Steven Joyce is the lead Minister for MTFJ. 

Click here to read more about the MTFJ

Who is on the MTFJ Core Group?

  • Malcolm Campbell | Chair | Mayor, Kawerau District Council
  • Margaret Kouvelis | Co-Deputy Chair | Mayor, Manawatu District Council
  • Max Baxter | Co-Deputy Chair |Mayor, Otorohanga District Council
  • Bryan Cadogan | Mayor, Clutha District Council
  • John Carter | Mayor, Far North District Council
  • Penny Hulse | Deputy Mayor, Auckland Council
  • Jan Barnes | Mayor, Matamata-Piako District Council
  • Steve Chadwick | Mayor, Rotorua District Council
  • John Forbes | Mayor, Opotiki District Council
  • Andy Watson | Mayor, Rangitikei District Council
  • Roly Ellis | Mayor, Tararua District Council
  • Lyn Patterston | Mayor, Masterton District Council
  • Alistair Sowman | Mayor, Marlborough District Council
  • Garry Howard | Mayor, Buller District Council
  • Kelvin Coe | Mayor, Selwyn District Council
  • Craig Little | Mayor, Wairoa District Council 

Date updated: 1 May 2017