Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC)

What is CBEC?

The Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC) represents all the community boards in New Zealand. It is an advisory committee to Local Government New Zealand's (LGNZ) National Council. 

The committee's role to advocate in favor of community boards, advise the National Council of LGNZ, and promote best practice amongst community boards.

The CBEC meets three times a year in Wellington. As well as these meetings, each Zone representative run regular zone forums to update community board members and focus on topical issues. 

Who is in CBEC?

  • Mick Lester | CBEC Chair & Zone 3 Representative | Hastings Rural Community Board Member
  • Bronwyn Hunt | CBEC Zone 1 Representative | Te Hiku Community Board
  • Allan Sole | CBEC Zone 2 Representative | Waihi Beach Community Board
  • Christine Papps | CBEC Zone 4 Representative | Otaki Community Board
  • Alexandra Davids | CBEC Zone 5 Representative | Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board
  • Rachel Brown | CBEC Zone 6 Representative | Wanaka Community Board
  • Ryan W Jones | West Harbour Community Board
  • Tania Tapsell | Rotorua Lakes Community Board
  • Don Cameron | National Council Representative
  • Mick Lester

    Mick Lester

    Chair & Zone 3 | Hastings Rural Community Board Member

    Mick has been on the Hastings Rural Community Board since 2001, when he was elected as a councillor and appointed to the Community Board as one of two Council representatives.

    He put his name forward to be the Zone 3 representative in 2010 as it seemed vital to achieve some co-ordination of boards in the zone so that they could share experiences and learn from each other. Being Chair of Community Boards Executive Committee since 2010 further enabled him to lead the Community Boards nationwide to achieve better relationships with their parent councils, a more constructive way of operating and through the zone meetings and the Community Boards Conference a chance to share experiences and achievements they have made.


  • Bronwyn Hunt

    Zone 1 | Chair, Te Hiku Community Board

  • Christine Papps

    Zone 4 | Chair, Otaki Community Board

  • Rachel Brown

    Chair, Wanaka Community Board

    I was elected to the Wanaka Community Board, and to the role of chair, in 2013 after several years chairing the Hawea Community Association. I have a strong belief in community and supporting the values and identity of each community. The strength of local governance is in being local; decisions are stronger and sounder when made close to source. Community Boards can provide an effective interface between council and community to ensure local validity and engagement.

    The Wanaka Community Board represents and acts as an advocate for the wider Wanaka community. The Queenstown Lakes District has given extensive delegation to our Board to make decisions on many of the facilities and services located within the Wanaka Ward. We are the only Board in our district, a reflection of the distinct communities of interest that exist. I work hard to honour our delegations and responsibilities to our community and council as we move forward together to make the best decisions for our ward, which of course itself comprises several distinct communities that we need to work with closely.

    Being an active and strong supporter of localised governance, I am excited to have the opportunity to be part of the Community Board Executive Committee and work to strengthen the role of community boards nationally.

  • Ryan Jones

    Ryan W Jones

    West Harbour Community Board

    Ryan is the youngest community board member in New Zealand, after being elected onto the West Harbour Community Board in the 2016 local elections (within zone 6). Ryan is a born and bred Dunedin local, growing up in the West Harbour area. He is also a student at the University of Otago, studying a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Politics and minoring in Māori Studies. He has a history of community organising in his community; he stood in the local elections following a contentious representation review in Dunedin and believes community boards have an even more important role in local government than they did when they were established in 1989.

    Ryan is passionate about social justice, increasing participation in local government and engaging youth in public service. As a parent, Ryan is concerned about issues of climate change, access to affordable housing and education. As one of two youth representatives on CBEC, Ryan plans to highlight these issues and engage young people in local government through his work with community boards.

  • Tania Tapsell

    Tania Tapsell

    Rotorua Lakes Community Board

    Tania Tapsell is one of the youngest Councillors in local government. She is on the Rotorua Lakes Community Board as a Council rep and is serving her second term on Rotorua Lakes Council. There she leads the Sustainability Portfolio, Youth Portfolio, and is Deputy Chair for the Operations & Monitoring Committee. Tania also works at international accounting firm Deloitte, and has previously worked for BNZ Business Partners and Ngati Whakaue Management Office.